Click here to download new hi-res photos of Jeff Slate (photo credit: Bob Gruen) and “The Last Day of Summer” cover art

Jeff Slate set to release his new studio album The Last Day of Summer on May 17, 2024 via Schnitzel Records

The NYC-based rock musician has recruited a who’s who of famed rock musician friends for this effort, including Dave Stewart, Earl Slick, Duff McKagan, members of Paul Weller’s band and Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds.

Jeff Slate is known as a world-class frontman and songwriter on the New York City music scene, where his band’s monthly residency in the heart of Chelsea draws sellout crowds and famous guests. But it was a long and winding road to that coveted place as part of New York’s cultural firmament.

Slate came up in the mid-1980s US East Coast post-punk scene, playing CBGBs and other legendary clubs of the day as the singer, guitarist and principal songwriter of the Mindless Thinkers, named by Steve Jones of the Sex Pistols at a drunken aftershow party. By the early ’90s, Slate was a solo artist, and made his name after working with The Who’s Pete Townshend, touring with Sheryl Crow and founding the mod-influenced band The Badge. Taking a page from the likes of The Kinks, The Who and the Small Faces, The Badge released three albums of original material, as well as numerous singles, EPs and live releases, before going on hiatus at the end of the ’00s.

Since then, Slate’s solo releases have included famous friends and A-list session players, and his songs have appeared in advertising and films, and on television, including in the hit show Gossip Girl. Slate has toured throughout the US over the past 13 years, sharing the stage with Roger McGuinn, Jeff Tweedy, Willie Nile and Margo Price and Sheryl Crow, as well as headlining the Switchyard Festival at Tulsa’s legendary Cain’s Ballroom, and Tom Petty Weekend in the late artist’s hometown of Gainesville, Florida. He’s even been an all-star counselor at the celebrated Rock and Roll Fantasy Camp!

A regular guest host on SiriusXM, Slate is the co-author of the 2017 book The Authorized Roy Orbison, with the late-legend’s sons, and has written liner notes for albums by Orbison, The Beatles, Bob Dylan, The Rolling Stones and Jimi Hendrix, among many others. Last year, Slate interviewed Bob Dylan, one of only a handful the icon has given this century.  

Jeff’s fourth solo album, The Last Day of Summer, featuring Dave Stewart, Duff McKagan, Earl Slick, members of Paul Weller’s band, and Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds, is due May 17th via Schnitzel Records. The photo shoot for the album was done by none other than famed rock photographer Bob Gruen.

Click here for Jeff’s fascinating account of how The Last Day of Summer came to fruition, as well album credits, lyrics and hi-res photos.

The Last Day of Summer Tracklist

1 Heartbreak 

2 World of Your Love

3 The Last Day of Summer

4 Till New York City Dies

5 Movin’ On

6 The Poacher (Remastered)

7 (Broken) Without You 

8 Man on the Moon

9 All Our Dreams

10 Drowning Slowly

11 Movin’ On (Single Version) [Bonus Track]

12 Heartbreak (Single Version) [Bonus Track]

13 (Broken) Without You (Dave Stewart Version) [Bonus Track]

14 Heartbreak (Stripped Version) [Bonus Track]

Jeff Slate [photo: Bob Gruen]





Tony Bonyata

Pavement PR

p: 262.903.7775

e: Tony[AT]

Comments are closed.