• Release
      Wrong Again
      November 1, 2019
  • Tour Dates

    • 12/09/23 GA-20 in Homer, NY at Center for the Arts
    • 12/10/23 GA-20 in Burlington, VT at Higher Ground
    • 12/29/23 GA-20 in Fall River , MA at Narrows Center For The Arts
    • 12/31/23 GA-20 in Saratoga Springs, NY at Saratoga NYE Fest 2023
    • 02/04/24 SAY SHE SHE in Seattle, WA at Neumos

    View All


    Wrong Again is Ags Connolly’s third studio album, following on from his highly-acclaimed offerings How About Now (2014) and Nothin’ Unexpected (2017). The traditional country singer-songwriter from Oxfordshire, England, took the reins on this latest effort, producing the album with a team of London-based musicians in the peaceful and intimate surroundings of Woodworm Studios in his home county. Ags also enlisted the expert help of accordionist Michael Guerra (The Mavericks) and fiddle player Eamon McLoughlin (Emmylou Harris, Rodney Crowell), both of whom had graced his previous album.

    Alongside Ags’ trademark honky-tonk shuffles, drinking songs and barroom ballads, Wrong Again delves once more into Tex-Mex/south-of-the-border flavours while entering some new territory in the lively western swing closer ‘Sad Songs Forever.’ Meanwhile, the one cover on the album is a swelling, earthy imagining of Gordon Lightfoot’s classic ‘Early Morning Rain.’ Whilst perhaps not a concept album in the accepted sense, Wrong Again does feature recurring themes: miles covered in cars and planes, the lone existence of the protagonist, the spectre of Austin, Texas – all gathered in the unforgiving shadow of lost love. These undercurrents tie the songs to each other and ultimately form a very personal record of the period in which they were written.

    Described as “a national treasure” by Europe’s biggest-selling country music magazine, Country Music People, Connolly has built a reputation over the last few years as an uncompromising country traditionalist in the UK and beyond, having also headlined shows across the US and Europe. In an era when the pop and rock incarnations of country music are enjoying a surge of popularity in the UK, Ags continues to defend the last outpost of the genre’s traditional roots. Wrong Again is another defiant offering in this vein, whilst also once again showcasing the high songwriting and lyrical standards his music has come to be known for.

    Ags Connolly’s new album Wrong Again will be available November 1st via Finstock Music.


    1. I’ll Say When
    2. The Meaning of the Word
    3. Lonely Nights in Austin
    4. Wrong Again (You Lose a Life)
    5. Say It Out Loud
    6. What Were You Gonna Do About It
    7. Indian Sign
    8. Early Morning Rain
    9. Then and Now
    10. Sad Songs Forever

    Ags Connolly (photo credit: Kev Lloyd)


    Tony Bonyata
    Pavement PR
    p: 262.903.7775
    e: tony[at]pavementpr.com

    Comments are closed.

  • Here’s what critics are saying about Ags Connolly:

    • “Hard country in the best sense. Connolly’s voice is smooth as can be, seemingly made to sing country tunes, and it’s easy to forget that he isn’t from Texas or Tennessee with his natural honky tonk croon. He also uses the kind of clever lyrical wordplay of legendary acts like George Jones, Webb Pierce and Ray Price, solidifying himself as someone who can talk the talk and walk the walk. In an age where acts like Tyler Childers, Sturgill Simpson, Margo Price, and Colter Wall have been building huge fanbases for playing real deal country music, Ags Connolly is a must listen as he deserves to be right up there with all of these acts.” – Glide Magazine

    • “The best singer-songwriter in the country field that this country (UK) has ever turned out” – Country Music People

    • “There’s no telling where or how the Holy Ghost of country music finds its souls to inhabit, but with results like this, it’s hard to argue that it hasn’t found a home in Ags Connolly” – Saving Country Music

    • “He’s damn good. He’s got a little bit of George Jones in him.”– Tom Russell